A Haunted House and Other Stories

145 Seiten


A Haunted House and Other Stories, is a 1944 collection of 18 short stories by Virginia Woolf. It was produced by her husband Leonard Woolf after her death although in the foreword he states that they had discussed its production together.

The first six stories appeared in her only previous collection Monday or Tuesday in 1921:

"A Haunted House"

"Monday or Tuesday"

"An Unwritten Novel"

"The String Quartet"

"Kew Gardens"

"The Mark on the Wall”

The next six appeared in magazines between 1922 and 1941:

"The New Dress"

"The Shooting Party"

"Lappin and Lappinova"

"Solid Objects"

"The Lady in the Looking-Glass"

"The Duchess and the Jeweller"

The final six were unpublished, although Virginia Woolf herself finally revised only Moments of Being and The Searchlight:

"'Moments of Being"

"The Man who Loved his Kind"

"The Searchlight"

"The Legacy"

"Together and Apart"

"A Summing Up"

Adeline Virginia Woolf (1882-1941) was an English author, essayist, publisher, and writer of short stories, regarded as one of the foremost modernist literary figures of the twentieth century.

During the interwar period, Woolf was a significant figure in London literary society and a member of the Bloomsbury Group.

Her most famous works include the novels Mrs. Dalloway (1925), To the Lighthouse (1927), and Orlando (1928), and the book-length essay A Room of One's Own (1929), with its famous dictum, "A woman must have money and a room of her own if she is to write fiction."




Seiten E-Book:







Verlag E-Book:

Anncona Media

ISBN E-Book: