Buttered Side Down
Share this book    

Buttered Side Down is a short story collection, first published in 1912, by American novelist Edna Ferber, who won the Pulitzer price in 1925.

The stories included are:

- The frog and the puddle

- The man who came back

- What she wore

- A bush league hero

- The kitchen side of the door

- One of the old girls

- Maymeys from Cuba

- The leading lady

- That home-town feeling

- The homely heroine

- Sun dried

- Where the car turns at 18th.

Edna Ferber (1885-1968) was an American novelist, short story writer and playwright. Her novels were especially popular and included the Pulitzer Prize-winning So Big (1924), Show Boat (1926; made into the celebrated 1927 musical), Cimarron (1929; made into the 1931 film which won the Academy Award for Best Picture), and Giant (1952; made into the 1956 Hollywood movie).

Ferber's novels generally featured strong female protagonists, along with a rich and diverse collection of supporting characters. She usually highlighted at least one strong secondary character who faced discrimination ethnically or for other reasons; through this technique, Ferber demonstrated her belief that people are people and that the not-so-pretty people have the best character.

Show more