The House of Arden - A Story for Children
  
Share this book    
Two siblings, Elfrida and Edred Arden, have recently become poor. However, the siblings inherit a ruined castle previously owned by a baron, and together they explore the depths of its mystery, hoping to find a treasure that will restore the castle and turn their luck around.
Going back in time, they discover magical things they have never dreamed of. The siblings are swept off to see the plans of Napoleon and the inside of the Tower of London, and they even encounter a mouldiwarp (a magical mole).
Most surprising of all: they find their lost father in South America, but is there still time to save him?
A beautiful tale about family, sacrifice, and self-discovery. Excellent for fans of C.S. Lewis, Lemony Snicket and Madeleine L'Engle. Born in Kennington in 1858, Edith Nesbit wrote and co-authored over 60 beloved adventures at the beginning of the 20th century. Among her most popular books are ”The Story of the Treasure-Seekers” (1899), ”The Phoenix and the Carpet” (1904), and ”The Railway Children” (1906). Many of her works became adapted to musicals, movies, and TV shows. Along with her husband Hubert Bland, she was among the first members of the Fabian society - a socialist debating club. A path in London close to her home was named ”Railway Children Walk” in her honor, manifesting her legacy as one of the pioneers within the children’s fantasy genre.
Show more