The Magic World
  
Share this book    
What would you do if you found out magic is actually all around you?
These twelve magical short stories are all about magic and how it can be found in unlikely places. The atmosphere of each story is similar to the fantastic universe of Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland.
They all contain important lessons for children as well as adults. In ”The Cat-hood of Maurice,” the protagonist learns to see life through another perspective and appreciate beings who are different from him. In ”Kenneth and the Carp,” a boy turns into a fish in order to prove his innocence. The story called ”The Aunt and Amabel” is said to have inspired C.S. Lewis’ famous Narnia-series because Amabel goes through a wardrobe and arrives in another world much like the Narnia children. A fairy-tale book like no other.
Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Lyman Frank Baum and Dianna Wynne Jones. Born in Kennington in 1858, Edith Nesbit wrote and co-authored over 60 beloved adventures at the beginning of the 20th century. Among her most popular books are ”The Story of the Treasure-Seekers” (1899), ”The Phoenix and the Carpet” (1904), and ”The Railway Children” (1906). Many of her works became adapted to musicals, movies, and TV shows. Along with her husband Hubert Bland, she was among the first members of the Fabian society - a socialist debating club. A path in London close to her home was named ”Railway Children Walk” in her honor, manifesting her legacy as one of the pioneers within the children’s fantasy genre.
Show more