The Phoenix and The Carpet
  
Share this book    
Would you be happy if all your wishes could come true?
Most people would assume the answer is ”yes” but the five siblings of this story find out that it is not that simple.
The adventure begins with a new carpet that has a glowing egg inside it and when it falls into an open fire it hatches a golden phoenix, the most famous of all mythical birds. The phoenix tells them that the carpet is enchanted, and it has the ability to grant the children three wishes every day.
With the arrogant but wise bird by their side they go on amazing journeys. But not everything is as it seems, and the siblings learn that you have to be careful what you wish for.
For fans of Frances Hodgson Burnett and Jonathan Rogers. Born in Kennington in 1858, Edith Nesbit wrote and co-authored over 60 beloved adventures at the beginning of the 20th century. Among her most popular books are ”The Story of the Treasure-Seekers” (1899), ”The Phoenix and the Carpet” (1904), and ”The Railway Children” (1906). Many of her works became adapted to musicals, movies, and TV shows. Along with her husband Hubert Bland, she was among the first members of the Fabian society - a socialist debating club. A path in London close to her home was named ”Railway Children Walk” in her honor, manifesting her legacy as one of the pioneers within the children’s fantasy genre.
Show more