Many consider ‘Anna Karenina’ to be the greatest novel of all time.
A profound and exhaustive exploration of Russian life and the human condition. Tolstoy creates one of the most complex heroines in literature as he details Anna falling a conscious victim to her own passion.
The dramatic scope of the story, the memorable characters, and the wealth of emotions that Tolstoy displays render ‘Anna Karenina’ much more than a novel, but rather an unmissable chronicle of the human condition that transcends both space and time.
A perfect delve into Russian literature for those who enjoyed Christy Lefteri’s ‘The Beekeeper of Aleppo’. Leo Tolstoy (1828-1910) was a Russian author. His focus was novels, but he also wrote many short stories, alongside essays and plays in his later life. Deemed the master of realistic fiction, his novel ‘Anna Karenina’ (1875-77) is considered to be the greatest novel of all time. Some of his other notable works include ‘War and Peace' (1865-69), ‘The Kingdom of God is Within You’ (1894), and his final novel ‘Resurrection’ (1899). His frank examinations of the world around him are unmissable for fans of Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Anton Chekhov, and Virginia Woolf, who was openly inspired by Tolstoy’s ideas about social class.
Show more