The Dover Cafe at War
  
Share this book    
'Brilliantly written . . . I loved it.' Rosie Goodwin
The first book in a brand-new World War II saga series. Perfect for readers of Ellie Dean and Annie Groves.
Dover, 1939
At the heart of Market Square lies Castle's Café, run by the formidable Nellie Castle and her six children.
Since the scandalous birth of her son ten years before, Marianne, Nellie's eldest daughter, has preferred to stay in the kitchen, hidden away from the scrutiny of the town gossips. Overcome with shame, she has never revealed the identity of Donny's father - not even to her own mother.
But with World War II just around the corner, soon Marianne's past catches up with her. And suddenly the lives of the Castle family become a lot more complicated.
Will the secrets from her past destroy their future?
- - - -
'A brilliant evocation of a family and community pulling together in wartime. Full of drama, laughter, and nail biting cliff hangers. A triumph!' Annie Clarke
'Well-researched and expertly written . . . Perfect for those days when all you want is a book to lose yourself in.' Fiona Ford
'A joyous read, the sort of book to read in one sitting.' Kitty Danton, author of A Wartime Christmas
'A rattling good novel that gives the reader a front seat at the Dover café during World War 2 . . . a really good start to what looks to be a fascinating saga.' Shirley Mann, author of Lily's War
Show more