The Forbidden Promise
  
Share this book    
The stunning new story of love and secrets from the Number One bestselling author of The Forgotten Village

Can one promise change the fate of two women decades apart?

Scotland, 1940
 
War rages across Europe, but Invermoray House is at peace – until the night of Constance’s 21st birthday, when she’s the only person to see a Spitfire crash into the loch. Rescuing the pilot and vowing to keep him hidden, Constance finds herself torn between duty to her family and keeping a promise that could cost her everything.
 
2020
 
Kate arrives in the Highlands to turn Invermoray into a luxury B&B, only to find that the estate is more troubled than she’d imagined. But when Kate discovers the house has a dark history, with Constance’s name struck from its records, she knows she can’t leave until the mystery is solved . . .
 
A sweeping tale of love and secrets, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Lucinda Riley.

First readers love The Forbidden Promise . . .

‘Compelling, dramatic, with a great twist – everyone who loved The Forgotten Village will be sure to love this too’ Jenny Ashcroft, author of Beneath a Burning Sky

‘Kept me turning the pages eagerly. A real treat!’ Tracy Rees, author of Amy Snow

‘Entrancing . . . an evocative and romantic mystery’ Woman’s Weekly

‘A wonderfully romantic love story, full of twists and turns’ Nikola Scott, author of My Mother’s Shadow

‘A dual delight of love stories, with hugely likeable characters and a corker of a twist!’ Mandy Robotham, author of A Woman of War

‘A wonderful tale of forbidden love, full of cliffhangers that kept me reading late into the night. And it has a fabulous twist’ Kathleen McGurl, author of The Forgotten Secret

‘Nobody does cliffhangers like Lorna Cook does. I inhale everything she writes’ Laura Jane Williams, author of Our Stop

Show more