The Crofter's Daughter
  
Share this book    
A moving and heartwarming World War I saga. For readers of Catherine Cookson and Dilly Court.

'When I'm the farmer,' began Mairi, and then she stopped, for she would never be the farmer. She was a girl.

Ever since she was nine years old, Mairi McGloughlin has known she wants to be a farmer, but by the law of the land it's her scholarly brother Ian who will someday inherit.

The next best thing might be to marry a farmer, and charming, confident Jack could be the perfect answer. But then there's Robin, her brother's best friend, more a man of books than of the land - and yet there's something about him. . .

But with the outbreak of the Great War, their choices change completely and neither Mairi, Ian or Robin can hope to escape unscathed.

As the world around them changes, only the land and love remain constant. But can it be enough to see them through?

Previously published as Harvest of Courage.
Show more