The Holy Bible - Psalms
Share this book    
The Book of Psalms is a collection of 150 poems that were written by various sages, kings, and prophets throughout Jewish history. The book was compiled after the exiled Jews returned from Babylon to Jerusalem. About half of them, 73 to be exact, are attributed to King David. Each of these poems is expertly and strategically placed in the book and go as far back as the creation of man. The Book of Psalms is divided into 5 books. The first 2 books talk about David and his family, the third book refers to the tragedy of the Israelites and their exile from Jerusalem to Babylon and the fall of David and his royal lines, and the fourth and fifth books talk about the hope for a Messiah, rebuilding of the temple, and praising God. The Book of Psalms is comparable to getting into a conversation with God and having the story of humanity told to you in poetic form.
Show more