In Cold Blood

Rating 4
9h 44min
Detective Isabel Blood
bookCoverFor

Description of the book

‘I read this in one sitting and loved every minute of it.The detective story reads like an episode of Vera.’ 5 stars, NetGalley reviewerNo secret can stay buried forever…

As the Whitworth family begin renovations on their new home, their plans are brought to an abrupt end when they discover a body buried in the back garden.

DI Isabel Blood and her team are called to investigate, but as she approaches Ecclesdale Drive, a feeling of unease settles in her gut.

The property cordoned off is number 23. The house she used to live in as a child…

The forensic team estimate that the body has been in the ground for up to forty years – coinciding with the time Isabel’s family lived in the house.

Isabel’s father vanished without a trace when she was fourteen years old. And with her mother remaining tight-lipped about her father’s disappearance, Isabel can’t escape the unnerving sense of dread that it’s his body, buried in the garden.

Fans of Vera, Val McDermid and Elly Griffiths will love In Cold Blood!

Readers love In Cold Blood!“A gripping police procedural thriller that had me engrossed from the first page. The storyline had me intrigued, so much so that I read it in one day.” 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer

“Isabel Blood is a great character and I really enjoyed getting to know her. I’m a great fan of police procedural novels and this was an excellent read! The case was a fascinating one and the story was cleverly plotted… with numerous twists and turns and some rather surprising revelations!” 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer

“If you’re looking for a cosy crime novel that is packed with suspense, then this is the book for you. A fantastic debut novel that I have no hesitation in recommending.” 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer

“This is a fabulous debut crime novel!” 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer

“I loved this book from beginning to end and cannot wait to read more from Jane Bettany.” 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer

Author::

Narrator::

Format::

Part:

1

Length Audiobook:

9h 44min

Language::

English

Published::

12/11/2020

Publisher Audiobook::

HarperCollins UK

ISBN Audiobook::

9780008421403

What others think

Reviews of In Cold Blood

Brilliant like all her books and really well read with an easy voice to listen to and enjoy.

Aneska

Absolutely brilliant start to a new series! So gripping and such a delicate and skilful description of a very tricky issue x

Claire

Ok and I will listen to the next one. There’s an interesting theme of missing fathers and it’s good to have a police officer who has a supportive husband. I was really interested for the first half but then it just went on too long. The bit about the Isabel’s daughter’s art teacher and whether or not they’re going to get a dog is just padding and adds nothing except tedium. The central theme is a interesting but Isabel and her colleague Dan find it necessary to deliver a lecture on trans gender living to an elderly lady, which is just priggish. The letter from the victim towards the end dragged on and on and though I’d guessed who the murderer was I was disappointed that it’s all wrapped up by a confession. Couldn’t there have been some editing? I found the narration rather flat and dreary. But I’m off to the next one because it would be good to find a series to settle into.

Norma