Book cover for The Retreat

The Retreat

A totally unputdownable and jaw-dropping psychological suspense thriller

Description of the book

‘OMG!!! SHUT THE FRONT DOOR!!! WHAT HAVE I JUST READ!?!?... Wow!!!… Mind-blowing… Absolutely stunning… Had me hook, line and sinker from the first page... I could not put it down!!!… Truly unputdownable. I started this yesterday afternoon and finished it at approx. 2am, I read it in one sitting… Addictive!’ Bookworm86, :star::star::star::star::star:

I watch my best friend and the way she lays a hand on my partner’s arm, throwing me a knowing glance. I haven’t seen her for so long. She knows my darkest secret. Is she about to blow up the perfect life I’ve created?


My partner José and I have poured everything into opening this rustic farmhouse retreat nestled high in the Spanish mountains. Finally we’re ready to welcome our first guests.

But a cold chill comes over me when I recognise Saskia. She’s part of my old life, the one I made sure to leave behind, and that José knows nothing about. Saskia knows everything about me – even the terrible secret I’ve carried for so long. She’s exposed me once before. Is she here to do it again?

She swears all she wants is for us to be friends again and she’s being so sweet, helping out whenever she can. Maybe she really is trying to make amends. But when I see that our beautiful water fountain is stained a deep red I’m certain it was her. She’s here for revenge.

Then I find the body floating in the pool. My stomach drops as I realise it can’t have been Saskia – because she was with me.

I’m in a nightmare. Someone is determined to destroy everything I love. But who are they, and how far are they willing to go? And will I be able to stop them before it’s too late?

A totally unputdownable psychological thriller packed with jaw-dropping twists. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Mark Edwards and K.L. Slater.

Readers love Karen King:

‘Wow!!!!!… I want to say how shocked and speechless I was by that ending. No way I would’ve guessed that one. That last chapter really got me… Almost gave me a heart attack… Oh my. I couldn’t put this down and raced through all the chapters… Time literally flew… I loved every minute of it.’ Bluemoonblogger, :star::star::star::star::star:

'Wowzers… Addicted… Didn't stop until I'd finished… Amazing twists… Blows everything out of the water!... Fast-paced, gripping, and filled with intrigue’ @staceywh17, :star::star::star::star::star:

‘Fantastic… The twists and turns are HUGE!… There are plenty of fireworks!… OMG!… I was gripped by the story and couldn’t put it down!’ Goodreads reviewer, :star::star::star::star::star:

‘I was just mindblown by the huge plot twist at the end… When I tell you that my jaw dropped, it really did… A cycle of plot twists kept landing and I was on edge! I just can’t and never will get over that epilogue; it felt like a bomb dropped!’ Goodreads reviewer

‘Wow, I absolutely loved this from start to finish! I was gripped from the first page and read it in one night! I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it, and I was completely blown away by that twist at the end!’ Goodreads reviewer, :star::star::star::star::star:

‘Will have you on your toes from start to finish!… Amazing… If you are ready for a book you absolutely cannot put down, this is the ONE!!!’ Goodreads reviewer