The Secrets of Latimer House

Rating 4.3
14h 53min
bookCoverFor

Description of the book

In the war against Hitler every secret counts…

‘Shines a light on a part of the British war effort I’d previously not been aware of…a fascinating, informative and heartwarming novel, and I loved it’ The New York Times and Sunday Times bestseller Jill MansellSociety heiress Evelyn Brooke-Edwards is a skilled interrogator – her beauty making her a non-threat in the eyes of the prisoners.

Farm girl Betty Connors may not be able to type as she claimed, but her crack analytical skills soon find her unearthing covert connections.

German ex-pat Judith Stern never expected to find herself listening in to German POW’s whispered conversations, but the Nazis took her father from her so she will do whatever it takes to help the Allies end this war.

Billeted together in the attic of Latimer House – a place where secrets abound – Evelyn, Betty and Judith soon form a bond of friendship that carries them through the war. Because nothing is stronger than women united.

Tucked away in the Buckinghamshire countryside, Latimer House, a grand country estate, stands proudly – a witness to some of greatest secrets of WW2.

Used by the SOE to hold Nazi prisoners of war, this stunning historical novel is inspired by the untold story of the secret listeners of ‘M Room’ who worked day and night to help the Allies win the war. A must-read for fans of Mandy Robotham, Fiona Valpy and Kate Quinn.

Readers love The Secrets of Latimer House:‘Freaking fabulous! Five perfect stars for this perfect book!
…The writing was wowza. So beautifully done. It flowed amazingly and honestly I couldn't tear my eyes from my Kindle’ Rubie

‘A truly fabulous read, full of drama intrigue and three fabulous characters’ Jeanie

‘I really enjoy this type of book which brings strong women together in exceptional circumstances, and this one did not disappoint’ Angela

‘This five-star read is the first historical fiction novel for Jules Wake and I think you’ll agree with me it’s a real treat for lovers of this genre!!!’ Norma

‘An excellent WWII-era historical fiction novel that is gripping, suspenseful, and engaging. I really enjoyed it!’ Rachel

Author::

Format::

Length Audiobook:

14h 53min

Language::

English

Published::

30/08/2021

Publisher Audiobook::

HarperCollins UK

ISBN Audiobook::

9780008501709

What others think

Reviews of The Secrets of Latimer House

Just a lovely story and really enjoyed every part! Romantic, uplifting, and inspiring

Olivia

Such a lovely story with a poignant and realistic storyline

Angela

10/10...couldn't put it down. There are 3 main, very different characters and the friendships they build throughout the book is just beautiful. There are some gorgeous, heart warming moments in this book that brought a tear to my eye. one of my most favourite reads ever. highly recommended ❤️

Carolyn